Day 1: My Favorite Place

I’ve been going through a weird time lately. Not necessarily bad, not necessarily good. I have been stagnant, it seems. So, I decided to challenge myself during the month of February to write more.

February 1st is day one: my favorite place.

Last summer (2015) I discovered my favorite place. I drove out one evening to watch the sunset and I started to run out of ideas of places to go. I began to panic because it was going to be the most beautiful sunset of the summer and I was going to miss it while driving all over kingdom come to watch it. Amidst my panic, I turned the corner on Volunteer Road and tears filled my eyes because I was looking at one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen.

I stumbled upon a huge field that beautifully overlooked Pilot Mountain. I pulled my Honda over on the side of the road, hoping I wouldn’t get stuck in a ditch. In the back of my mind I could hear my mother saying, “Abby, why in the world are you by yourself, in a ditch, watching the sunset?” Most days that would have been enough for me to pull away, but that night, it wasn’t enough. I was searching for something.

I rolled down my windows (I was too chicken to get out) and turned my car off. It was just me and that sunset. I decided to take out my bible, had no idea what to read, but I thought it would be the perfect thing to do at the time, and it was. I turned to Psalm 27 and it said…. “The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? The Lord is the light of my life, of whom shall I be afraid?” I prayed, better yet, I talked to the Heavenly Father like He was sitting right beside me. My heart was so full that night.

My favorite place is that ditch on Volunteer Road because in that one moment, I never thought I would see, or feel, anything more beautiful. IMG_20150504_200122818_HDR

Leave a comment