Staying the Course

So, this morning in the library I was studying biopharmaceutics and I made it to the section of “Rectal Drug Administration” and decided it was time to get my butt up and squeeze in some personal time (no pun intended).

Bass Lake Park was the destination, with a plan to study outside with a view… but then I saw the trail and took off.

I started reflecting on this past year of pharmacy school (19 days until my last exam holla praise) and my twentieth year of life… And as I write this I am moved to tears because all I can say is God is faithful.

Life is like one big trail hike. You follow a path, make turns along the way, and end at your destination.

I thought about things on my walk that reminded me of my life and these are the things that came to mind.

  1. We never walk alone. Seriously, I have never been on a hike where I haven’t crossed paths with someone.
  2. There are signs/directions… for a reason! If it says, “stay out” you probably should.
  3. We get tired. At least I do…
  4. There are hills; hence the exhaustion
  5. There are views; makes the hills worth it.
  6. There are bridges to attach one side to another.
  7. It’s about the journey, not the destination.

I am thankful for these moments. The times when I can rest in the presence of God, and thank him for the path behind me, and the promises before me. Most importantly, for walking with me every step of the way.

I am thankful for the hills, the moments of exhaustion, because in these moments I have nowhere else to turn but up. The hills bring me back when I have wandered.

I am thankful for bridges because they remind me of Jesus. I can remember in Sunday School my teacher would draw a picture of two sides of land that were separated: one side was God and the other was Man. Then she would draw a bridge and write “Jesus” because He took on our sin and shame to save us and make us children of God. He bridges the gap for us.

Lastly, I am thankful for the journey. The older I get the more I learn that life is a journey. We laugh, cry, travel, eat, drink, worship, hurt, and everything in between. Most of all, we grow. We use the things we learned along the way. We make mistakes (like chugging a diet lemonade from Chick-Fil-A before walking 3 miles), but we learn from them.

So, in moments like these nearing the end of a school year, where an inch feels like a mile, we must remember where we have come from, and the promises of where we are going.

Jesus came to give us life to the full (John 10:10), don’t waste it. Find a trail, go for a walk, reflect, and enjoy the journey.

Xoxo

 

asdfasdfasdf

 

 

Leave a Reply

