He’s Not Finished With Me Yet

After Hurricane Matthew hit North Carolina, it seemed like every other road on the southeast part of North Carolina was shut down due to damage. It just so happened that on my way to the beach, and to a very important wedding, I was detoured every way I turned. I had to laugh after about the third “ROAD CLOSED” sign because I just knew I wasn’t  going to get where I needed to be on time. So each time, I would turn around and follow the detour signs. And guess what: I saw the ocean and I made it to that beautiful wedding with time to spare.

Sometimes we get sent a different way than we planned.

Its easy to get frustrated after you see that third detour sign. If you’re anything like me, you probably mumble “WHAT THE FREAK?! Why does this keep happening?! Why are these roads closed?”

Because they were dangerous.

Had I not stopped and turned around, I would have ended up in a ditch or drifting down a river… not good people.

This week in church someone said, “How scary would it be to watch your life and see how many times God protected you from something harmful?”

That really got to me, and made me think about all those blessed road signs.

Praise God for every road he has closed, and every detour sign he has provided for me. I am so thankful that my paths have been altered, and for being protected against things that could have ruined my life. I’m sure you can relate. We all think we know what is best for us, but do we?

In moments like those, where you are wondering why roads close or your path changes, just remember, “He’s not finished with me yet.”

Remember: I made it to the beach and to that wedding. Our Father in heaven finishes what He starts.

I have learned that I will never completely arrive, I will never reach my peak, and I hope that is the case, because that just means He’s not finished with me yet.

“Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

